Learning #1: Takeoff/landing and load calculation charts are not the same for each aircraft

I finally managed to do some revision on the “Piper Quebec” takeoff, landing and load calculation charts I struggled with as mentioned in my last post. The “Piper Quebec” charts look and (seem to) work quite a bit differently to the “Cessna Papa” charts I worked through a few years ago.

Once worked through, they seem pretty straightforward. I’ll verify whether I’ve now truly got my head around them by doing the 3rd BAK sample exam and see whether I can finally nail these “Piper Quebec” questions. But my learning is this: whenever I’m dealing with a new aircraft, I need to go back to first principles and figure out the basics of takeoff, landing and load calculations.

(I’m not saying the takeoff, landing and load calculation charts are totally different for each aircraft. They probably all work much the same. But my initial experience is that the Cessna vs Piper charts look different, and work a bit differently. This definitely threw me.)

One response to “Learning #1: Takeoff/landing and load calculation charts are not the same for each aircraft

  1. Pingback: Right, takeoff/landing and load calculation charts are under control « MidLifePilot's Flying Blog

Leave a Reply

