Kicking off

So, ima learn me to fly. Since I haven’t started yet – I’m still in the advanced planning/preparation stages – I thought I should keep a diary of my thoughts and experiences. Then I thought, who keeps diaries any more? Not me, for one … I only put pen to paper these days when I have to. Then I thought of the wonderful world of blogging.

Who’d read this stuff? Perhaps I will, for one – might be fun to come back in a couple years, with a couple hundred flying hours under my belt, and relive my flying training experiences as they happened. Or perhaps my wife or children might be interested (time/age permitting). Or just maybe … a friend or two?

But that, of course, is the magic of blogs. There just might be one of two of you out there who actually want to know about what it’s like to learn to fly. And that – somewhere – tweaks my would-be writer ambitions. So, dear readers and posterity, whereever and whomever you may be … this is for you.

4 responses to “Kicking off

  1. I WAS SKIPPING THROUGH SOME FLYING BLOGS WHEN YOURS CAUGHT MY EYE.

    MY SON STARTED FLYING LESSONS WHEN HE WAS AROUND 17 YEARS OLD. HE DIDN’T FINISH THEN BECAUSE OF VARIOUS REASONS. NOW, AT THE AGE OF 49, HE STARTED BACK AND NOW HAS HIS PRIVATE LICENSE. HE SAYS IT’S THE BEST AND MOST FUN THING HE HAS EVER DONE. SO, YOU GO SON. DO YOUR THING AND HAVE FUN AND PAY ATTENTION.

    KEEP SAFE AND KEEP THE NOSE UP IN THE TURNS.
    RON

    • Hi there Ron

      Many thanks for your kind and supportive words, and for checking out my humble blog! I can 100% empathise with your son and his situation. When you’ve got the bug for aviation and carry it all through your adult life, when you finally get to do it, it’s just the coolest thing. My wife and I had some good fortune early this year which, for me, means that rather than wait another 5 or 10 years until the kids are older and money’s more plentiful, I can go fly now at the still pretty young age of 40. I can’t describe how excited I am (medical permitting of course – fingers crossed).

      Many thanks – and enjoy flying with your son
      Dave

  2. YOU ARE WELCOME.

    I AM AN OLD RETIRED CONTINENTAL PILOT MYSELF. ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO WE BOUGHT A BEECH DEBONAIR WITH A CONTINENTAL 230 H.P. ENGINE, THUS MY EMAIL ADDRESS. I SUPPOSE MY ADDRESS COULD HAVE A DUAL MEANING.

    ONE WORD OF ADVICE FROM ME, IF YOU WERE TO ASK, WOULD BE TO HIT THE BOOKS AND STUDY HARD AND STEADY. GO ONLINE AND TAKE SOME OF THE PRACTICE TEST. WHEN YOU START MAKING A SCORE OF 80 OR SO ON THEM RUN DOWN AND TAKE THE REAL ONE. ONCE YOU HAVE THAT UNDER YOUR BELT THE REST IS EASY. SORTA.

    GOOD LUCK,
    RON

    • Hi Ron

      That’s one classic aircraft you’ve bought yourself! I hope you get much pleasure and many safe flying hours out of it.

      Many thanks for your advice. Funnily enough I have no problems motivating around the theory study, and in fact am now on my 2nd pass through the BAK and PPL theory study (which I assume would be very similar to the standard flying curriculum in the USA). I did the entire course of theory study about 3 years ago when it looked as though I was going to be able to start my flying training then. When that didn’t work out, the books went into the attic and I’ve only just dusted them off to get ready for March 2011 training. I’ve got sample exams that I will take (again). My plan is to walk into day 1 of training having done the entire theory component, which I am sure will help on the practical side.

      I’ve always found career pilots very supportive of my flying goals and helpful with advice and experience. I’m lucky enough to know two active Qantas pilots (from my high school and university days) who have been invaluable in helping me choose my flying school. It’s a nice community to be about to join. I’m sure there are pilots out there who aren’t so nice, but I haven’t met any of ’em yet …

      Cheers
      Dave

Leave a Reply

